FOCUS expands to 15 new campuses this year

Denver, Colo., Aug 18, 2017 / 06:23 am (CNA/EWTN News).- The Fellowship of Catholic University Students (FOCUS) has announced that it will expand to 15 new campuses for the 2017-2018 school year.

This brings the total number of campuses with a FOCUS presence up to 137.

“I firmly believe God has called me to share this great joy He has given me through this experience to others, and I am absolutely delighted to now be able to do that through FOCUS!” said Natalie Larkins, a first-year FOCUS missionary at Western Kentucky, in a press release.

The new campuses for the upcoming academic year are Bowling Green State University (Ohio), Indiana University, Iowa State University, Kansas State University, Louisiana State University, Slippery Rock University (Pennsylvania), University of Nebraska at Kearney, University of Rochester (New York), University of Southampton (England), University of Southern Mississippi, University of Toledo (Ohio), Valparaiso University (Indiana), West Chester University (Pennsylvania), Western Kentucky University, and Western Michigan University.

A campus outreach ministry, FOCUS works to inspire and equip college students to know, love and share their faith through intentional virtue-based friendships.

Missionaries stationed at campuses throughout the country and internationally invite students to grow in their faith through Bible studies, small groups, events, mission trips, and one-on-one discipleships.

FOCUS has more than doubled its campus presence since 2011.

The organization is hoping to again double the number of campuses it serves within the next five years, with a goal of reaching 250 FOCUS campuses by 2022.

If you value the news and views Catholic World Report provides, please consider donating to support our efforts. Your contribution will help us continue to make CWR available to all readers worldwide for free, without a subscription. Thank you for your generosity!

Click here for more information on donating to CWR. Click here to sign up for our newsletter.


  1. It would be a very good thing if FOCUS were able to expand its outreach onto campuses of “Catholic in name only” universities and colleges throughout the U.S. Of the 137 campuses on which it will now operate, only TEN are Catholic – or “Catholic” (and 4 of those 10 also appear on New Ways Ministry’s list of “LGBTQNAMBLADAUGHTERSOFBILITIS-friendly” universities and colleges):

    Ave Maria University, in Florida
    Drake University, in Iowa
    Loras College, in Iowa
    Benedictine College, in Kansas
    Mount St. Mary’s University, in Maryland
    St. John’s University, in Minnesota
    Seton Hall University, in New Jersey
    Belmont Abbey College, in North Carolina
    University of Mary, in North Dakota
    Franciscan University of Steubenville, in Ohio

    At present, the only Illinois campus upon which FOCUS is situated is the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. FOCUS expands to 15 new campuses this year - Catholic Crossing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

All comments posted at Catholic World Report are moderated. While vigorous debate is welcome and encouraged, please note that in the interest of maintaining a civilized and helpful level of discussion, comments containing obscene language or personal attacks—or those that are deemed by the editors to be needlessly combative or inflammatory—will not be published. Thank you.