Catholic World Report
facebook twitter RSS
The Dispatch: More from CWR

The Joseph Ratzinger-Benedict XVI Vatican Foundation today announced the two recipients of its 2013 Ratzinger Prize, as well as details about its annual conference. This year’s prize-winners are Richard A. Burridge, an Anglican biblical scholar, and Christian Schaller, a German theologian who has been involved in the publication of the pope emeritus’ complete works.

More details, from Vatican Information Services:

The recipients of this year's Ratzinger Prize are the English Biblical scholar Richard A. Burridge, dean of King's College London and minister in the Anglican Communion—the first non-Catholic to receive the award—and the German lay theologian Christian Schaller, professor of Dogmatic Theology and deputy director of the Pope Benedict XVI Institute of Regensburg, Germany, which is publishing the complete works of Joseph Ratzinger.

“Richard Burridge today,” said Cardinal Ruini, “is definitely an eminent figure in the field of Biblical studies and not only of the English language. In particular, he has made a great contribution in that decisive area of the historical and theological recognition of the Gospels' inseparable connection to Jesus of Nazareth.” Christian Schaller will also be awarded the Ratzinger Prize, “not only for his contribution to theological studies but also in recognition of the role he is carrying out in the publication of Joseph Ratzinger's complete works. This publication is of primary importance for the future of studies inspired by the thought of Joseph Ratzinger-Benedict XVI, which is the main purpose of our Foundation.”

“The Foundation's aim is to place the question of God at the heart of academic reflection,” according to the VIS report. “Its two principal activities are awarding scholarships to those pursuing doctorates in Theology and organizing conferences of high academic standard.” This year’s conference sponsored by the foundation will be held at the Pontifical Lateran University in October and will be titled, “The Gospels: History and Christology.”

The 2012 winners of the Ratzinger Prize were French historian Remi Brague and American theologian Father Brian Daley, SJ.
About the Author
Catherine Harmon

Catherine Harmon is managing editor of Catholic World Report.
Write a comment

All comments posted at Catholic World Report are moderated. While vigorous debate is welcome and encouraged, please note that in the interest of maintaining a civilized and helpful level of discussion, comments containing obscene language or personal attacks—or those that are deemed by the editors to be needlessly combative and inflammatory—will not be published. Thank you.

View all Comments

Catholic World Report